. . . Of the Week (5-10-14)

Hello!  Well, it’s been a long week and I have a lot on my plate today, so I’m going to keep this short.

Video Clip of the Week

This week’s video clip is a fan-made trailer for a live action film version of the sci-fi manga Akira, which is something of a touchstone for Western translations of manga works and is considered by many critics to be a masterpiece.  I don’t generally get into fan-made works, but the production values and attention to detail in this case are astounding, and I felt it was worth sharing.  Somebody please make this movie happen!

Akira Project – Live Action Trailer

Album Cover of the Week

This is the cover design for the Dutch prog metal band Within Temptation’s album Hydra.  In addition to the fact that I love well-executed bisymmetrical designs, what really struck me about this design was the wonderful contrast between the more organic art style used to create the dragons and the rigidly geometrical if somewhat ornate ‘H’ (which is also somehow a ‘W’)–it’s a simple design and it all works quite well, in my estimation.

Within Temptation - Hydra (cover)
Within Temptation – Hydra (cover)

Meme of the Week

Indeed . . .

Song of the Week

I love this song.  It’s quite haunting and reminds me of a girl I once knew named Heather, who I think of now and again.  Ah, youth.

Ponderosa – Heather

That’s all for this week, boys and girls. 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

